Surf and turf my way


My babes loves pork sausage bbqed in my famous pear honey bbq sauce, and I love me some bacon wrapped shrimp….This recipe combines both!

Yes,  this is shrimp stuffed into sausage. Special equipment is needed.

Special equipment: 1 Stainless steel tube wide enough to easily accomidate the bacon wrapped shrimp and a little bit of tooth pick sticking out.

A meat grinder of course.

I’d be using 32 mm Hog casings.

Now let’s get to it.

Fresh hot pork sausage

5 pounds pork shoulder
6 tablespoons hot sauce (she has me use tabasco and only 3 tablespoons)
5 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons onion powder
2 tablespoons paprika
4 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon cayenne
2 teaspoons garlic
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 cup ice water

Partially freeze meat and grind through a fine plate.
Grind rest of ingrediants in a mill except crushed red pepper flakes and hot sauce. They should be powdered. Mix hot sauce, powdered spices, and red pepper flakes into the meat paste.

Now, I briefly boiled my shrimp (I got 5 pounds peeled and devained, and I put them on skewers before boiling so they would stay straight!) I only want them to boil for 1-2 minutes, partially cooked, I want them to stay straight.

Once this happens, we’re ready to stuff our casings. The metal tube is ready to be used. We slide the bacon wrapped shrimp down the metal tube, and we cover around the tube with the pork mixture, then we’d hide the shrimp end with pork, and we’d keep doing this repeatedly till all our shrimp is in the middle. Tie off every 9 inches. Keep repeating and you will have a bacon wrapped shrimp stuffed into a spicy pork sausage, covered with your favorite bbq sauce!

The bbq sauce she’s having me use for this is:

1 cup pear honey
1 cup bourbon
1 cup ketchup
4 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons water

mix pear honey, bourbon, and ketchup in a sauce pan on medium low whisk together and simmer for 5-10 minutes, then whisk together flour and water and whisk into pear honey, bourbon and ketchup mixture and simmer for 2-3 minutes, remove from heat.

Place sausages on grill and roast till done. (I’m doing 20 minutes over the flame, 10 per side), once done slather in bbq sauce, and put on the other side of the grill to cook indirectly for another 10 minutes, so the sauce gets kinda sticky.

Surf and turf sausage hell yeah man food for the win!

 

The flavor report….The pork paired really well with the shrimp, the bacon wasn’t super crispy, but it was juicy. Then again I like flimsy bacon. The pear bbq sauce was really sweet and went nicely with the pork, bacon and shrimp. It was mouth watering and absolutely delicious, with just enough heat to balance the sweet.
One comment on “Surf and turf my way

  1. […] Surf and turf my way (livindolcevita.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

