Chocolate bundt Easter eggs


In the spirit of Easter, I tend to bake stuff. This year I’m going to try to bake cakes into my eggs. So here we go.

Here’s some technical stuff. Volume of an egg

 

I’m using large eggs which is 3 tablespoons and I wanna prevent filling them more then 2/3 rd’s full. So 2 tablespoons of batter per egg. 12 cups worth of batter is 192 tablespoons divided by 2 divided by 12 is 8 cartons of eggs. Yes that’s a lot of eggs. The egg whites and yolks of these eggs will not go to waste. I myself scramble then up regularly, so 8 cartons will last me about a week.

 

First we need to prep the eggs. I do this with a needle poking a hole in both ends, and blowing the egg white and yolk out of the shell into a bowl. I then soak the egg shells in a solution of 1 part vinegar 2 parts water. Leave these over night. The next day let them drain and dry for a day. Once dry the fun begins. You want to remove carefully from one end of the egg some more of the shell. You want it to be big enough to insert your #1 standard decorating tip for a pastry bag. To seal the other end of the egg, I add in 1/2 teaspoon of powdered sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon of olive oil. This mixes in the egg and seals the end, Sometimes it doesn’t seal that’s ok. Now we make the batter.

 

2 cups chocolate porter or stout beer
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for the pan
3/4 cup natural cocoa powder (non-dutched)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dark brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cups plain whole yogurt
3/4 cup pure maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350F, with a rack in the center.

In a saucepan simmer the beer down to 1 cup. Remove from heat, add the butter and stir until melted. Stir in the cocoa powder, mixing until smooth, then set aside to cool, stirring occasionally to let off heat.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the eggs, yogurt, and maple syrup. Whisk well, until nicely blended and uniform in appearance. Gradually add the (cooled) stout mixture, stirring all the while. Stir until well blended. Add the flour mixture, folding until just blended, using as few strokes as possible.

Transfer the batter to the eggs by injecting through the pastry bag do not fill more then 2/3rds otherwise the egg will break and bake for 30 minutes-40 minutes at the most. Remove eggs from the oven and let cool. I often bring them in the egg cartons to dinner.

There is no salmonella risk as the temprature gets hot enough to kill off the salmonella bacterium. It is also possible to dye the egg shells before filling them after blowing the egg white and yolk out. It’s fun to peel the eggs only to find that it’s got cake in it! What fun for kids and adults alike? You can do this with any dough you can squeeze through your pastry bag. Could possibly do it with a cookie dough if you can get it to a batter like consistancy.

10 comments on “Chocolate bundt Easter eggs

  1. Great web site. Lots of useful information here. I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you to your sweat!

  2. Gimnasia en casa says:

    I’m glad I found your article. I would never have made sense of this topic on my own. I’ve read a few other articles on this subject, but I was confused until I read yours.

  3. videos de messi says:

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon. Cheers

  4. outlet shop says:

    It looks like you tend to be pretty up to date concerning this.

  5. Jazz Music says:

    Enjoyable blog page, See you again soon

Leave a Reply

